Musings and Reflections – Summer 2017 Week 0

     I can barely remember the last time I was this unexcited about a new season. Last one was plagued with sequels and this one just fails to intrigue me. Yes, there are some tried and tested leftovers left that should provide enough entertainment but other than that… Usually there’s at least several shows that look exciting either because of their premises, their studios or just some particular creators. This time? Not really. Apart from a few only mildly attractive ones there’s lots of light novel adaptations (particularly those that deal with isekai), some romcoms, shounen battle series or silly comedies but I feel that I’ve already seen enough not to fall for anything particularly hard. On the other hand since I’ve become part of this community fairly recently, there’s lots of good stuff stuck indefinitely in my backlog, so this summer might be a perfect time to experience some classics that I feel uncomfortable for not having watched yet like Madoka Magica. Also it might be a good time to get into Monogatari franchise. So yeah, let the backlog season begin!

Re:Creators

      Re:Creators didn’t have any break so the story continues as if there was no change in seasons. The group came up with a plan to stop Altair and all the remaining episodes (weirdly only 10 of them) will probably tackle that. Well, it’s nice to have some direction where everything is going, even though some yet unseen fictional dudes will probably appear and make everything more messy. I just expect more talking (quite a lot actually) and some cool fights. The continuation of the story that makes sense would be welcome. Tying all the loose ends and explaining all the mechanics of fictional characters appearing in the real world might become a huge problem for the show, but we can only wait. Anyway, Hiroyuki Sawano should be at his best, as well as Maya Sakamoto’s lovely Magane, and that’s a lot.

Sakura Quest

      Again, I doubt a second cour will be that different from the first one. Stakes may become higher, Yoshino might have more trouble acknowledging everything good she has brought to Manoyama, but the same pace of having two or three episodes for one mini-arc should remain. As there are 5 main girls it’s natural that their charatcers are still very much in need of exploration and though they all had their moments and did experience some changes, undoubtedly there’s still much room for new stories to be told. The fact that Yoshino has been to Manoyama in her childhood might gain more significance, the backstories of the girls also could be expanded much more. If everything will go as it has been, I’ll be more than content.

     Apart from these two that I’ll definitely continue, Fate/Apocrypha looks like just another random spawn of the franchise that has little meaning to me now because I’m still determined to finish the original visual novel one day.  Princess Principal has Yuki Kajiura on board and I don’t even know how much stuff I’d need to watch in order to understand Owarimonogatari. Only these four might look more promising:

  • Ballroom e Youkoso looks exactly like Haikyuu and seems to aim to appeal to the Yuri!!! On Ice audience. It’ll probably be the flagship of sports anime and end up being not a bad one, just very sports-anime-like nothing innovative apart from the setting.
  • Kakegurui looks like another anime set in a high school despite having nothing really to do with it. Over the top (almost Shokugeki no Soma level) reactions are guaranteed, but it might just end up being an ad for the manga.
  • Katsugeki/Touken Ranbu distinguishes itself only because of ufotable. I still have respect for them but the CG road the studio chose isn’t something I like that much. Some scenes definitely will be nice and all but considering that it’s a game adaptation I don’t have much faith. Especially after God Eater and Tales of Zestiria.
  • Made in Abyss is still shrouded in mystery (for those as myself who haven’t read the manga) but there are rumors that this show isn’t what it seems – cutsy character designs don’t automatically mean a harmless story.

    As always I’ll just wait for the reactions of the community. Well, it might be not a forgettable season overall, but I think the choice to pay more attention than usual to older anime might be a better one than blindly plunging into everything that statistically should be only of average quality.

     Have I missed anything prominent? If you have any recommendations since it’s clear that I could use some, please share!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. While I haven’t had time to have a decent look, there doesn’t seem to be all that many shows I am really looking forward to. Still, should find something or I will catch up on shows I skipped in previous seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • Even if it’s sometimes frustrating not being physically able to watch everything that comes out that also provides an almost endless source of anime to watch when simulcasts aren’t that interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Well…I have an enormous backlog of anime as well, so actually I don;t even think I will start on new shows for this season, unless I see something really good appear on other people’s blogs. (Honestly though, I hope not, because my backlog is almost more along the lines of an encyclopedia these days lol 😂😂).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    • It almost seems impossible for a backlog to get shorter no matter what you do. There’s always so much good stuff to see.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts

