Musings and Reflections – Autumn 2016 Week 1

Natsume Yuujinchou Go (Ep. 1)

 photo MR1.1_zpsvpwampgq.png

     Ah, that brings so many memories! Looks like this season will explore the past of Reiko and her relationship with Natsume’s grandfather. I can only approve of that and second that it is probably one of the more interesting aspects of the story that still hasn’t received enough attention. Recalling production quality of 91 Days I can sadly confirm that animation will not be the main selling point of this show but hopefully the stories will compensate for that more than enough. Getting Aimer to sing the ED also looks like a big deal. Shame that ED’s visuals are lacking. Overall it looks like for people already engrossed in the story of Natsume it will be at least a decent experience. Visuals may not be the strongest part of the show but well, they never have been. This particular story wasn’t the most interesting compared to others from the past but it solidly reintroduced the characters and set up the road for the future. As it’s the only anime this season that I picked without any thoughts I certainly hope it will do well. At least, it has every mean to do that. Yes, nostalgia may boost the value of the series higher than it truly deserves but 4 seasons of constantly good delivery speak for itself.

Yuri!!! on Ice (Ep. 1)

 photo MR1.2_zpsnzjpnubv.png

     I wonder how many people similarly to myself at first misunderstood the title. Say what you will but it much more resembles a possible yaoi and not yuri. Anyway, it was truly memorable first episode and not only because ice skating is not such a usual sport. The director previously has made an episode (Ep. 28) in Nihon Animator Mihonichi and it also featured ice skating. Then as well as now the quality of the animation is quite stunning. I’m not sure if the story will turn out to be as good, not all of the humor works well on me nor do I qualify for the apparent target audience but the sheer beauty of the visuals as well as my country’s flag appearing among others in the background during Victor’s performance is more than enough to make me stick along. It looks like in general Yuri!!! on Ice will be more or less a typical sports anime with competitions, rivalry and possible friendship between the main three ice skaters near the end.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Yeah, Natsume is this season’s version of Sailor Moon or D Gray Man for me. I can’t review it on it’s own merits at all (even when I try) because nostalgia just keeps making me love it no matter what it does. That said, this first episode of Natsume was pretty great and reminded me just why I love the series.
    I really enjoyed Yuri as well, though I’m also still on the fence. The first episode stood out but I’ll wait and see where it goes with the story before I decide.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts

